Wk 12- Artist Conversation-Sage Garver

Artist: Sage Garver

Exhibition: BIO

Media: Sculpture, Polyurethane Foam

Gallery: Dennis W. Dutzi Gallery

Website: None

Instagram: None

Sage Garver is an undergraduate senior at California State Long Beach and is in the BFA Sculpture program. She transferred to CSULB from El Camino and she always knew that she wanted to study art. She likes to go swimming, hiking, but has not being doing much because of senior year activity.She is not planning on going to grad school but instead she wants to go live in Hawaii with her sister and work there.

When walking into the exhibit all I saw was white sculptures sticking out of the wall. The sculptures are made out of polyurethane foam. Some of the sculptures had texture while the others looked smooth. Some sculptures were round while others had sharp corners.

At first when I walked into the exhibit I thought that the theme was about the ocean. I also felt relax when I was in the exhibit but when I read Sage’s written statement and she mentioned that the exhibit is about her body and illness. My point of view changed and I felt as if I was in the hospital. Sage Garver exhibit is actually about biology mostly about the inside of a cell. It has been a while since I took a biology class, so I did not figure out right away that some of the parts from the exhibit are from cells, until I read her written statement and interviewed her. That was when I realized that it was part of body. This exhibit is based on her body and the illnesses she faced and also the frustration she felt when losing control over her own body.

This exhibit is amazing and I like how the sculptures look like if it is part of the wall. I hope the artist is in better health and I would also like to see more of her work. This is also the first time doing an artist conversation at the Dennis W. Dutzi Gallery.

Leave a Reply

